West indian literature

Webinar on “Historical Works in Telugu Literature” – India Education | Latest Education News | World Education News

Aligarh: Language experts delved into Telegu literature covering the awe-inspiring poetry and secular and religious epics written across the centuries by famous Telugu writers in the National Webinar on “Historical Works in Telugu Literature” of the Telegu Section, Department of Modern Indian Languages, Aligarh Muslim University (UMA) to mark the national celebrations “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav”.

“Telugu literature flourished in the early 16th century under the Vijayanagar Empire, of which Telegu was the court language. From the 19th century, experiments were made in Western literary forms such as the novel,” said guest of honor at the inaugural function, Professor Syed Mohammad Hashim (Dean, Faculty of Arts, AMU).

Professor Budati Venkateshwaralu (Head of Department of Telegu, Hindu University of Benares, Varanasi) discussed the works of great poets such as Palkuriki Somanatha, Nannechoda, Nachana Somana and Srinatha among others.

Professor Shaikh Mastan (former Dean of the Faculty of Arts, AMU) spoke about the impact of poems, short stories, novels and plays written in the Telegu language.

Professor Mushtaq Ahmad Zargar (Department of Modern Indian Languages, AMU) emphasized the importance of preserving historical literature.

Dr Pathan Khasim Khan (Director, National Webinar) delivered the welcome address, while Dr Taher H Pathan extended the vote of thanks during the inaugural ceremony. A total of 24 research papers were also presented in four different academic sessions.

The program ended with a farewell session during which Dr. Pathan Khasim Khan presented the webinar report. The main guest, Prof. Peta Srinivasulu Reddy (Founding Director, AP Telugu Academy) published the book “Historical works in Telugu Literature” edited by Pathan Khasim Khan in a session chaired by Prof. Mushtaq Ahmad Zargar.

Prof. B Sarada Sundari (Former Head of Telegu Department, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi) attended the farewell session as guest of honour. Dr R Tamilselvan extended the vote of thanks.

Source link