West indian literature

Tribute before the revelation of the 2022 literature prize


The Nobel laureate on social networks has also, in the past, paid several tributes to Rabindranath Tagore.

New Delhi:

The Nobel Prize Twitter account today posted a photograph of 1913 laureate Rabindranath Tagore with a tribute, ahead of the announcement of the 2022 Literature Prize awarded to French author Annie Ernaux.

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian and non-European to win the Nobel Prize for Literature.

The tweet quoted one of his lines – “The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has enough time” – and described his poetry as “sensitive, fresh and beautiful”.

Also on Instagram, the Nobel Prize-winning handle posted a photo and one of his quotes on September 27.

Its Facebook and Twitter handles posted similar posts earlier with different photographs.

Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941), who wrote in Bengali and English in all genres, was also a music composer and painter, in addition to being a philosopher and socio-political reformer. He and his works influenced India‘s freedom movement, including its leader Mahatma Gandhi.

The national anthems of India and Bangladesh are his creations.

The 1913 Nobel Prize citation says he won it “because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verses, by which, with consummate skill, he made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words , part of the literature of the West.

Today on the handles of Nobel social networks, his photo was not the only one shared.

American novelist Ernest Hemingway, who won the 1954 Literature Prize, also received a tribute, quoting one of his lines about “all good books being alike”.

Another historic winner like Rabindranath Tagore who received a tribute was Toni Morrison, the first African-American woman to win the Nobel Prize for Literature (1993).

A video explaining how the winner is selected was also released.

The literature laureate was the fourth Nobel Prize announced since October 3. The committee must announce the winners in six categories. Those of medicine, physics and chemistry have already been announced.

Tomorrow, the Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded, for which Indian fact-checkers Pratik Sinha and Mohammed Zubair of AltNews would be among the choices.

The economics winners will be the last to be announced on October 10.

Source link