West indian countries

Israel bans entry to 7 African countries due to new variant of Covid

Jerusalem, November 26 (SocialNews.XYZ) Israel has announced an entry ban for travelers from seven African countries, after a new variant of Covid-19 was detected in South Africa.

Amid reports of the heavily mutated variant known as B.1.1529, Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett and Health Minister Nitzan Horwitz decided on Thursday to classify South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana , Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini as “red countries”, according to Xinhua. the agency reported.

“Foreigners from these countries will not be able to enter Israel,” the prime minister’s office said in a statement.

Israeli citizens returning home from trips to these countries will have to stay in a designated quarantine motel for seven days, even if they are fully vaccinated, he said.

They will be released after two negative PCR tests. Travelers who refuse to be tested will have to remain in quarantine for 12 days, the statement said.

South African scientists have said they have detected the new variant of COVID-19 and are still studying the implications.

Source: IANS

Israel bans entry to 7 African countries due to new variant of Covid

About Gopi

Gopi Adusumilli is a programmer. He is editor-in-chief of SocialNews.XYZ and president of AGK Fire Inc.

He enjoys designing websites, developing mobile apps, and posting topical news articles from a variety of authenticated news sources.

When it comes to writing, he enjoys writing about current world politics and Indian films. Its future plans include the development of SocialNews.XYZ into a news website that is free from bias or judgment towards any.

He can be contacted at [email protected]

Source link