West indian countries

Dharamshala Film Festival 2022 will screen 80 films from 32 countries


Dharamshala: Winner of the Cannes Jury Prize and nominated for the 2022 Oscars, Joyland (Pakistan, 2022) by Saim Sadiq will have its Indian premiere here during the 11th edition of the Dharamshala International Film Festival (DIFF).

Festival director Ritu Sarin has revealed that the film festival will be held from November 3 to 6 at the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts (TIPA), McLeod Ganj.

In the 80 films, including the Indian premiere of Cannes Jury Prize winner and Oscar 2022 nominee, Saim Sadiq’s Joyland (2022) and Aditya Vikram Sengupta’s Once Upon A Time in Calcutta (India, 2022) would be among the films to be screened at the Festival.

Films from 32 countries, including 21 narrative feature films, 16 documentary feature films and 43 short films, will be screened at the venue during the festival days.

Sarin said, “We are thrilled to announce our line-up! As we come out of two years of Covid, we’ve had a bumper crop of amazing new films from across India and the world to choose from. We look forward to welcoming audiences and filmmakers back to live, breathe and talk cinema for a few days in the beautiful surroundings of McLeod Ganj!

She added that this year’s Indian feature film lineup includes: Adh Chanani Raat (Crescent Night) by Gurvinder Singh; Cannes Film Festival Golden Eye Award winner, All That Breathes by Shaunak Sen; Dharti Latar Re Horo (Turtle Under Ground) by Shishir Jha; Dhuin of Achal Mishra; Dostojee by Prasun Chatterjee; Jhini Bini Chadariya (The Breaking Thread) by Ritesh Sharma; Manikbabur Megh (The Cloud and the Man) by Abhinandan Banerjee; Pedro by Natesh Hegde; Shankar’s Fairies by Irfana Majumdar; Taangh (Desire) by Bani Singh); Urf (alias) by Geetika Narang Abbasi; and watch over me by Farida Pasha.

And international highlights include: A New Old Play (China, 2021) by Qiu Jiongjiong; Neighbors (Switzerland, Iraq, Syria, 2021) by Mano Khalil; Rehana (Bangladesh, Singapore, Qatar, 2021) by Abdullah Mohammed Saad; The Crossing (France, Germany, Czech Republic, 2021) by Florence Miailhe; Dear Future Children (Germany, UK, Austria, 2021) by Franz Böhm; Flee (Denmark, France, Norway, Sweden, 2021) by Jonas Poher Rasmussen; The Silence of the Mole (Guatemala, 2021) by Anais Taracena; and The Territory (Brazil, Denmark, USA, 2022) by Alex Pritz.

Dharamshala International Film Festival (DIFF) is an independent film festival founded by filmmakers and local residents Ritu Sarin and Tenzing Sonam in 2012. It has been held annually in McLeod Ganj for ten years.

Arvind Sharma is an award-winning bilingual journalist with over 20 years of experience. He has worked with Divya Himachal, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhasker, Vir Partap, Ajit and PTI. In 2010, he received the Himachal Kesri journalism award. It reports on the Tibetan government in exile, politics, sports, tourism and other topics. He lives in Dharamshala.

Source link