West indian people

Assembly: Time to Choose Between BJP and Terror Supporters: Adityanath Ahead of UP Sixth Phase Poll | India News

GORAKHPUR: On polling day for the sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said the elections had reached the decisive stage and every vote in the ruling Bharatiya Janta party was a step towards making the state India’s number one economy. .
Adityanath said it was time to decide between us and those supporting terrorism.
“The Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections have reached the decisive stage. You have seen development projects over the past five years, be it from the inauguration of AIIMS at Kushinagar International Airport “It’s time to decide between us and the people who support terrorism. Your every vote will make Uttar Pradesh India’s No.1 economy,” Adityanath.
Adityanath offered prayers at Gorakhnath temple in Gorakhpur ahead of the start of the sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls.
Voting for the sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections will take place on Thursday.
Voting will begin at 7 a.m. today and continue until 6 p.m. Polling will take place in 57 Assembly constituencies spread across 10 districts including Gorakhpur, Ambedkarnagar, Ballia, Balrampur, Basti, Deoria, Kushinagar, Maharajganj, Sant Kabir Nagar and Siddharthnagar.
In total, 2,14,62,816 voters including 1,14,63,113 men, 99,98,383 women and 1,320 third sexes should exercise their right to vote to decide the fate of 676 candidates.
With 676 candidates running in the sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath tops the ranking of eminent faces in this phase. Chief Minister challenges Gorakhpur Urban polls. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) pitted Khwaja Shamsuddin while Samajwadi Party (SP) aligned Subhavati Shukla, who is the wife of late Upendra Dutt Shukla, a former BJP leader, against Adityanath. Meanwhile, Chetna Pandey of Congress will also fight against Adityanath.
Besides Adityanath, prominent faces in this phase are State Congress Speaker Ajay Kumar Lallu who is running from Tamkuhi Raj seat, Swami Prasad Maurya who left his cabinet post to join Samajwadi party and running from Fazilnagar seat, and opposition leader in the state assembly and Samajwadi party leader Ram Govind Chaudhary running from Bansdih seat.
Ajay Kumar Lallu of Congress takes on Sanjay Gupta of BSP and Udaynarayan Gupta of SP on the seat of Tamkuhi Raj.
SP’s Swami Prasad Maurya will take on BJP candidate Surendra Singh Kushwaha, the son of incumbent BJP MP Ganga Singh Kushwaha, from Fazilnagar headquarters. Maurya will face Ilyas Ansari of BSP, Sunil Singh of Congress and Harish Chandra Yadav of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).
PS leader Ram Govind Chaudhary faces Congress’ Puneet Pathak in the Bansdih seat. Puneet’s grandfather, Bachha Pathak is a former Vice President of the State Congress. His grandfather had been a provincial deputy for Bansdih for seven terms between 1967 and 1996 and was also a minister in the UP government.
SP leader Ram Govind Chaudhary also faces Ketki Singh of Nishad Party and Manti Rajbhar of BSP.
Voting for the seventh phase, which will be the last phase, will take place on March 7. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Source link